Valiasr Human Chain by Mousavi Supporters

Valiasr Green Human ChainYesterday, I was a part of the green human chain in Valiasr St. in support of Mousavi. From 5 to 7 PM, thousands of supporters of Mousavi formed a long human chain from Rah-Ahan Sq. in the south of Tehran to Tajrish Sq. in north.

Valiasr Street, with 12 miles (19.3 kilometers) is the longest street in Middle East which runs from north to south of Tehran and divides the metropolis into western and eastern parts.

Valiasr St. in TehranI was myself a part of this green chain for the whole 2 hours period. We were below Hemmat bridge, in the north part of Valiasr. There were people in both sides of the street. All the cars were beeping, each with a green symbol and people were so happy.

Although the huge amount of Mousavi supporters plus almost all the cars in Valiasr caused a heavy traffic jam in almost all parts of Tehran, there were no police forces in the streets.

It was “Hope” everywhere. People were saying, happily shouting or even singing their slogans against Ahmadinejad and in support of Mousavi. After last Mousavi’s debate in which he called Ahmadinejad a liar, the main subject of many of the slogans was “Lie”.

Valiasr Green Human ChainOne group of people were asking loudly: “2 x 2 ?” and the other group were responding by “10!”, any other numbers or sometimes they responded with “Whatever Dr. says!”. Some people were holding different funny diagrams, while other had green apples in their hands and were saying to the crowd: “This is an orange! Enough evidences exist!”.

Well, for me it was a very unique feeling, and I had never such an experiment before. I was a part of a crowd that all were singing the same song, and I had the feeling that I can do EVERYTHING.

Also for the first time in my life, I could feel and understand our previous generation who went out to the streets 30 year ago and did the revolution. I couldn’t stop myself comparing my current activities with them. I don’t know what happens on Saturday night, when the result of the election becomes clear, but maybe 30 years from now, our children will ask “Why the hell did you do these stupid things at June 2009?!” like what we’re always asking from our own parents!

But I’m happy of what I did. I’ll vote on Friday, and I’ll vote for Mousavi. Not because he is the best, but because he is the better choice in our current conditions. Reform do not happen in one night, like what our parents did 30 year ago, what they called it “revolution”. Reform in Iran will take a very long time, in a road with many little steps.

Mousavi is only one step.

Leave a Reply

